What Is It Like To Do A Drama Degree?

As you all know I have just finished the second year of my drama degree and about to start the most important year of the whole degree. Since finishing my second year I have been reflecting on the highs and lows of doing drama along with a university life. I have also been thinking of my options once I finish, I know many people wonder, what jobs can you get from a drama degree except being an actor/actress. This post will give you all the information on what to expect from a drama degree. Trust me it’s not an easy course and it isn’t all jazz hand and Mickey Mouse.

blog1pic.jpg

 

Rehearsals, Rehearsals, Rehearsals.

Have coffee planned with the girls? Have a night out? Want some me time? Well… That doesn’t happen if you do a drama degree. I was lucky if I had a night off. With 9am-11am lectures followed by all day rehearsals, you are lucky to be home by 9pm. By the time you get home your bed looks like heaven. But, then you remember you’ve got to set your alarm  for 6am. My nights off used to be Saturday nights but I had a part time job on the weekends. So, if you’re thinking of doing a drama degree it isn’t as easy as a couple of hours, it’s long winded. But, the end result is worth it.

Creativity is Key

On a drama course, you can say goodbye to sit down exams. Majority of your exams will be performances or presentations. Which means you have free creativity over your degree. One of my previous exams was to create a performance based off the theme ‘Home’ the rest was up to you to create a 10 minute piece. The creativity felt like freedom. I like to keep a little notebook full of my ideas which could be used for my degree, the inspiration comes from plays I’ve seen or something which popped into my head while dancing round my room to Queen (it happens) it all goes into the notebook and when it’s time to put together a performance or a presentation I refer back to the notebook and see what I could use. So, if you want creative freedom and to be as eccentric as you like. Drama is perfect.

Simply the Best

Over the past two years on this course I have met the most talented people. Majority of people base drama degrees on TV shows they have watched of bitchy behavior and jealousy. When really, it isn’t anything like that. Everyone on the course is unique and has talents which is great for collaborations and exploring different aspects of the performance world. For me, I play two instruments and I know how to use music software. This is my unique talent and I get support from it. Nobody bashes each other or tries to put someone down, we all lift each other and support each other because we are in the same boat and doing it together. We are all simply the best.

What jobs can you get with a Drama Degree?

Here are just a few occupations you can enter with a drama degree:

  • Actor/Actress
  • Director
  • Writer
  • Arts Administrator
  • Drama Teacher
  • Drama therapist
  • Radio Presenter
  • Broadcast Journalist
  • Editorial
Leave a Reply

